Posted by: Amber | June 18, 2007

Learning to Live!

I am amazed that I dug my heels in for so long about home schooling.  I guess I was not sure of how it would look for our family.  Now, all I can say is, I can’t believe I didn’t do this sooner.  There is timing for everything and now is definitely the time for this. 

 As I move forward into this, I have read about and heard about tons of different approaches to schooling.  I have friends who do everything from unschooling to classical approach so I was a bit lost as to what was best for us.  Well, I still am feeling this out, but I can say that Charlotte Mason has got my ear.  I have been very drawn to Montessori for so many reasons.  There are some places that it gets a little too child centered, but for the most part it resonates with us.  It seems that Charlotte feathers nicely into that philosophy, so I will keep reading and learning right along with our kids.  Something about those gutsy turn of the century broads that inspire me. Add Sophia Coveletti to the list as well.  Talk about having a strong voice:-) For now the one thing I know for sure is that we are all  “Learning to Live…one day at a time.”

Responses

  1. Charlotte Mason is a favorite of mine. I love her laid back approach. Her ideas make it possible to enjoy every bit of life while learning at the same time. I know of many who use the Charlotte Mason approach that love amblesideonline.org/. Didn’t know if you’d heard of it yet.
    Enjoy the adventure.
    amanda

  2. I wrote a comparison contrast paper on Mason and Montessori, but I couldn’t rustle it up for ya as I think it went down with my ‘puter a few years ago. Anyhow, a little of both and some classical keeps me in the road. And Cavalletti has my heart as well.

  3. mmmmm, that sound lovely! Thanks for the tips on Mason Amanda. I will check it out!

    Darn, truevyne – I would of LOVED to read that paper. I have a feeling we will meld that way as well. Thanks for the comments. They spur me on!

  4. Amber,

    I tried to post this the other day and it got eaten. Anyway, I am enjoying your new musings and thoughts on your adventure.

    I know you mentioned above that there is an overwhelming amount of info and choices in homeschooling, and I agree completely that sitting with Mike, praying together, and listening to God’s vision for your family is the only way to go. I do HAVE to mention — because when I read your earlier posts on the other blog this came to mind — that the My Fathers World curriculum is written in such a way that it meets your family in a lot of areas. Anyway, you can read more about it at mfwbooks.org. We’ve been using it for three years now, and has a GREAT global, missional perspective and fits our family’s flexibility goals. Ask any questions, if you have any. And thanks again for your writing.

    Heather


Leave a Reply

Categories

