Posted by: Amber | July 13, 2007

Home Grown Kids!

 #1 Biggest misconception about Home schooling:  That you have to be a gifted and trained teacher to do a great job at home schooling your kids.

No, not really, if you can read, you can do it.  You just have to be willing to work on yourself in the process.

This was my BIGGEST fear about home schooling.  Now a few months into this I have “seen the light. ” All of my veteran “home schooling diva” friends are chuckling at me.  Lovingly of course.  One of the reasons we are home schooling is to help our children think.  Think critically.  I am sorry no matter how you slice it, that is more important than grade point average, extra cirr. activities or anything else.  If they can think they will thrive wherever God has them.

Lynda says it so well.  “I don’t know about you, but I find this to be freeing for me as a mother who must wear many hats in daily life. I don’t have to be ‘gifted’ in teaching in order to adequately educate my children.”

(For my parents in law you can read till your hearts content on her website about Charlotte Mason method)

Responses

  1. This is great, this has been a paranoia of mine 🙂

  2. I know what you mean E. Go read Lynda blog and you will get a great feel for it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

