Posted by: Amber | July 17, 2007

What a day!

Today, I got to pretend I was a Mom of 5 who were 5 and under. It really wasn’t bad at all.   I do so much better with out all the birthing, and nursing and sleeplessness etc. etc.  That and I have a rhythm down and I am not trying to figure out the whole “how to be a mom thing”.  So that has some to do with it.

I am off to Gainesville to have  a week with my girlfriend from college.  She and I knew each other before husbands and kids and our friendship has survived and thrived with the addition of both.  Bonus is her van can fit all 6 car seats without a problem!  

Pray for my drive tomorrow.  4 hours is a hike by myself, but I am timing it over nap time.  Hopefully that will take some of the bite out of it.

I wanted to leave you all with one quote form Death by Suburb before I go.

“Mature Christian faith discerns God behind all the circumstances in life that conceal God – from the mundane to the tragic.”

He quotes Bonheoffer (One of my favorite Christian theologians)

“It is good to learn early that suffering and God are not contradiction but rather a unity, for the idea that God himself is suffering is one that has always been one of the most convincing teachings of Christianity.  I think God is nearer to suffering than to happiness, and to find God in this way gives peace and rest and a  strong and courageous heart.”

Peace to all! 

Responses

  1. You are going to have an awesome trip. I wish Ruby and I were going, but then where would we sit?! LOL

    Give Leah hugs for me!

    😉

  2. We could get a side car:-) Or a conversion van! What the heck, lets just buy the bus and make it official.

  3. I so can’t wait to read that book. AH SO MANY TO READ! I’m going to a discussion on it on teh 15th of August so that should keep me accountable!

  4. This book is great! It is a fast read as well, not that it is not deep, it is just conversationally written. If you like to read like I do you can get through it in a week or less:-) Let me know what you think!

  5. Hey Amber, great post! Looks like this is going to be a great blog!!

    You have been Tagged by the 4FabMoms. Check it out!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

