Posted by: Amber | July 22, 2007

Diva’s Do’s & Don’ts

Do rest, every Sabbath. 

Don’t run around like a chicken with your head cutt off.  Even if it seems like fun activites. 

I am really resonating with Death By Suburb – David Goetz’s comments on the Sabbath rest.

“This is a realm of time where the goal is not to have but to be, not to own but to give, not to control but to share, not to subdue but to be in accord.”  He quotes Heschel as saying “spiritual life begins to decay when we fail to sense the grandeur of what is eternal in time.”  Sabbath is “eternity in disguise”.  It’s a day not for furthering our opportunities and those of our kids but to liberate ourselves from the pursuit of such things.  He points out that this is a space, where all of Gods people, regardless of economic position enter as equals.  Able to feast on eternity one consistent day a week without a care in the world.

This is my space right now.  Slowly, steadily working with God on the small space of soil in my heart that has to do with time.  It is as if there is enough time in the world for things to “get done”, and yet such a small sliver of time to really purchase those things worth working hard for.  Namely relationship.

Mike and I are really thinking about all of this in regards to our home schooling decision.  We really want our children to grow up in a slow, easy, expectant of amazing things, joy of life type of way.  A deep since of wonder. Not shuffling around from play date to over done birthday party.  We are not even pursuing organized sports for them. Maybe one day, but not now.  Mike and Jackson did T-ball last year.  Mike had the opportunity to coach, and it was a way for them to be together, but we knew no one on the team.  Jackson was mildly interested, and the other kids and I stayed home because it was too much for them.  Not a way we want to use our time again, any time soon.   Even home schooling is a relaxed, gentle rhythm.  You only have to read a few lines of Charlotte Mason’s philosophy to begin to unwind and dig in. 

Deep roots come from deep rest.  Deep rest is a choice.  It is a discipline regardless of the debt, or the schedule, or the lists.  It is a decision to stop one day a week and really reorient yourself around the kingdom of God.  In His kingdom there isn’t a care in the world.  The joy is knowing God and being known  by Him.

So get off the computer.  unplug the phone, go into your room shut the door and be quiet, with the one who made you.  With no need, or question to be answered.  Just listen, and make room for his inner workings.  I promise you will feel much better when you do.

Responses

  1. Yes

  2. An excellent post. Thank you!

    Btw, I like your new look here. Beautiful children!

  3. Thanks yielded heart! I like my new look too. It goes along with all of the other organizational things I am adding to my life! And of course I am bias but I think our children are beautiful as well.

  4. Nice entry. I like your thoughts on rest as it relates to depth of wonder. It reminds me of this passage from an essay by D.H. Lawrence:

    “Superficially, the world has become small and known. Poor little globe of earth, the tourists trot round you as easily as they trot round the Bois or round Central Park. There is no mystery left, we’ve been there, we’ve seen it, we know all about it. We’ve done the globe, and the globe is done.

    This is quite true, superficially. On the superficies, horizontally, we’ve been everywhere and done everything, we know all about it. Yet the more we know, superficially, the less we penetrate, vertically. It’s all very well skimming across the surface of the ocean, and saying you know all about the sea. There still remain the terrifying underdeeps, of which we have utterly no experience.”

    There’s a bit more here:

    http://gottsegnet.blogspot.com/2007/06/horizontal-learning-vs-vertical.html

    Hope you don’t mind the link from a brand new commenter, but your reflections are very similar to my ponderings for the summer!

  5. Thanks Dana for the comment. I always like having new commentors. I will pop on over and check out your thoughts.

  6. Thanks! And I think I’ve been here before…maybe before you redesigned? I don’t know, but something is familiar. I got here from my google alerts this time. Thanks for visiting, and I added you, too, so I don’t have to wait for the next google alert to figure out what blog I was on.

  7. This one is so very hard for me, but I know that every ounce of it is correct. My life is so crowded right now and i need to find a way to simplify.

  8. I will pray that God shows you what to weed out:-) Maybe Death by Suburb should be sooner rather than later:-)

    Love ya,


Leave a Reply

Categories

