Posted by: Amber | July 29, 2007

Success!

So for those of you interested, the party was great! You can see for yourself! (Thanks to all in our local community who helped).  We took about 200 bucks and threw a “shin-dig”.  I met a new neighbor who just moved here to help plant a church. I also met a family form Peru.  My boys wore their Inca cola shirts and we meet Peruvians all over the place.  It is our calling card. They had all sorts of cool stories of how they are working towards helping Peru and the local Peruvian community. 

People were so thankful for the party.  The church planter actually asked me “Why did you do this?”  I was like “DUH” isn’t this what God’s people are supposed to do?  Be in the neighborhood, seeing what God is up to?  But I just said  “It’s what we do!”  Everyone couldn’t wait for the next one.  One family wanted us to put up a community bulletin board so we can stay more connected.  Another family suggested we have a little meeting to make sure our builders don’t leave the property without fixing everything that needs to be fixed.  Another neighborhood said “This is what makes a house a home.”

Overall good times.  Many baby relational seeds were sown and Mike and I look forward to seeing what God does through them.  So here is a challenge to  you.  Take some money.  Maybe your monthly tithe and do an experiment.  Take that money and plan a party and invite your neighbors and then invite your church community and see what God is up to.  You never know what you will find and others may just follow your lead.

Responses

  1. I am glad the party was a success. 🙂 I have just placed on order for this book from our library due to your postings, thanks for the encouragement!

  2. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I am just now going to write a review and post in a book review section.

    Let me know what you think:-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

